Jubilee Riviera won’t stop spinning

Somebody knows... Maybe you?
atticbrowser

Jubilee Riviera won’t stop spinning

Post by atticbrowser »

I acquired this rather untidy machine from a friend in the pinball community. I collected it in the summer telling myself ‘that’ll make a nice project for the quiet winter months.’ Well spring is on the horizon and I still don’t have it working. The machine does most things correctly I think. It accepts a coin and spins the reels. However what I’ll call the horizontal brake arm (do please tell me the proper name) needs a little prod before it will swing around and release the individual brake levers. Without that initial prod it just sits there. As a complete novice with these machines I had two theories. Firstly was the pivoting point of the brake arm gummed up with old dried grease? Well I sprayed the joint with solvent and sat working the mechanism repeatedly to see if it freed up. It didn’t.my only other thought was to note that there appears to be a spring involved in the action and I wondered if that was not strong enough to give the brake arm its initial pull? I’d greatly value advice and suggestions. I’ve taken a short initial video...link below...and will film whatever else you need. Thanks in anticipation.

badpenny
Forum Moderator

Re: Jubilee Riviera won’t stop spinning

Post by badpenny »

Hi ……..

Clearly the clock governor is stopping shortly after you pull the handle.
It shouldn't.
Take the mech out of the case and watch it from the back when you play it. You may see something that is blocking it momentarily.
It might be grease in the clock which you should clean out. Ideally remove the clock and submerge it in diesel or some active agent even petrol. If you don't feel up to that, then sit the whole mech on "Beloved's" table don't worry about the antique lace table cloth her granny gave her for a wedding present, it'll be fine!
Now spray it liberally with WD 40 or similar.