What bandit to restore?

Advice and guidance on repair and restoration techniques.
brianh

What bandit to restore?

Post by brianh »

I'm relatively new to the restoration game having played the slots in the sixties then started dabbling in attempting to bring allwins back to life when I retired a year or so back.
I have so far resisted trying same with a bandit as they looked a bit complicated compared with basic allwins but time has come when I fancy having a go.
Question is ......what would anyone recommend as a good basic machine to look for as a starter and what pitfalls to avoid? I'm reasonably OK with working on the mechanical side of things but crap with electrics. !PUZZLED!
treefrog

Re: what bandit to restore?

Post by treefrog »

Most bandits work to the same principle and in fact you do not need to do a huge amount to them other than clean and service certain areas like the kicker, clean slides, clean the clock and lube pivots and wear points.

In terms of cases, any chrome machine will be a pain if it is in poor condition, but if reasonable, being biased, I would say an Aristocrat is a good start. Most mechanical machines the most in terms of electrics you need to worry about are lights, if they have them....

Suspect it is more down to availability, price point and preferences, looks.

Good luck
badpenny
Forum Moderator

Post by badpenny »

I agree with TF.
And .........
Avoid anything that relies on being plugged in to work.
Go for an Aristocrat Arcadian or Jubilee first.
Don't worry if it only spins slowly or has an intermittent problem, just so long as you get a complete cycle out of it now and again.
If it's an adventure for you, try and avoid buying something with missing bits it could put you off for life.

There will be project bandits at the forthcoming Coventry Auction Coundon Social Club. Come and play first and ask questions to your hearts content.

BP
brianh

Post by brianh »

Many thanks TF and BP - very helpful as always.