Page 1 of 7

Novelty Merchantman Crane

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 10:05 am
by churchfayreuk
I've just acquired a Novelty Merchantman Crane as an office show piece. I work as a repairer alongside my arcade crane processor business,
http://WWW.CHURCHFAYREUK.COM. Any of you out there who own arcades and operate cranes (Toppers, Megas, etc.) probably have my Powerplay box in it.
I was working at a small arcade when I see this crane in the corner. It's been missing the motor for 15 years I've been told. It's now been rescued from those delightful little urchins we call customers :lol: from kicking it and twisting the working handle. Now I own it and it sits pride of place in my office.
I would like to have it as a working piece. HAS ANY BODY GOT A SUITABLE MOTOR or any other spares please?
Martin.
Churchfayre UK
01268 511363

Re: Novelty Merchantman Crane ??

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 11:00 am
by badpenny
Welcome on board churchfayreuk and congrats on your crane. Usually we can be a bit wary of new members that advertise their business in their first post as they often just disappear leaving us feeling used and abused. !!HIDING!!
However as you're also asking for help we'll give you the benefit of the doubt and guess that you're an OK kind of good guy who should be invited into our inner sanctum. !!YIPPEE!!
Please draw up a rusty old SEGA, sit down, share a biscuit and tell us lots of lies, we love lies.

I personally am all out of the kind of motor you seek, but they are out there as they often crop up in the room at our yearly slots auction in Coventry.

So if there's anyone out there who can help or signpost churchfayreuk let's hear from you.

Badpenny

(edited as even I couldn't understand my shpeling)

Re: Novelty Merchantman Crane ??

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 6:40 pm
by grabber
Hello,
Can you send some pictures of the crane cams etc. and some of us may be able to see what parts are missing - also a full length front picture.

Re: Novelty Merchantman Crane ??

Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 11:17 pm
by churchfayreuk
Thanks for the response. I've just tonight had a reply back from the USA in relation to a motor, but it's 110 volt :(
BUT I'm following a lead given to me from the UK (will keep you posted). But please keep looking for me,
UPDATE 19/Feb: I've just opened the L/H door - it was locked with old non-original lock, and I was pleasantly surprised to find all is present, including the mercury tilt switch :D
All that is missing is the motor and attached gearbox. The retaining bolts are even still where the person removed the motor over 15 years ago. The small connection flat bar is still there. Tonight I turned the shaft and it all works fine - drops grab, closes and returns closed, then opens up.
I'm like a kid with a new toy. Just can't wait to see it work under its own power.
Someone must have a spare :cry:

That's for the board forum, \\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\ I didn't realise so many like-minded people have a love for these great old machines.
Fingers crossed, will keep you posted.
Will post some more pictures soon,

Martin.
P.s I will be keeping a very close eye out for any old machines when I'm working in Swanage this weekend. !OMFG!

Re: Novelty Merchantman Crane ??

Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 10:33 am
by arrgee
Beautiful old machine Martin, many of us out here would love to own one!

Re: Novelty Merchantman Crane ??

Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 12:19 pm
by malcymal
Nice machine. I'm not a sparky but with the 110 volt motor - can't you use some form of transformer? We (being me and nephew) own seven Japanese pachislos and they are all 110v with a transformer put between power supply to step the power down. Some are internal transformers that we cannot see, neatly screwed inside machine casing (costing £25) and a couple have external transformers that we put out of view. We just took the plug off and put the wires into the connecting grips on the transformer and off we went. These cost us £35.00. Can anybody clarify for the poster if this would work with the 110v motor?? Malc

http://www.newmarket-transformers.co.uk ... ormers.asp

Re: Novelty Merchantman Crane ??

Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 12:40 pm
by coin-op
malcymal wrote: I'm not a sparky but with the 110volt motor - can't you use some form of transformer?
Can anybody clarify for the poster if this would work with the 110v motor?? Malc
Hi Malcymal, I'm no sparky either. However, I think there are two things (and a third which probably isn't crucial) which would put me off an American motor...and this is mainly due to keeping the machine true to itself. Firstly, by the time you buy a 110v motor and a suitable stepdown transformer you might as well put the money towards a good old 240 V motor and have the machine as it should be. Secondly, it would possibly mean having two power supplies; one via the transformer to the motor and one to the lights (which would be 240v), although you could run the whole thing at 110V and I guess the light would just be dimmer, so maybe that's being pedantic. Third thing is that the 110v motor would run at a slower speed as your transformer wouldn't change the cycle of the current (American stuff has a different cycle). This wouldn't be crucial, but at the end of the day in practical terms I'd say that it all adds together to mean it's better to hang on for an English motor...unless someone tells me that some of these American cranes ran on USA motors with a transformer in the first place.

Re: Novelty Merchantman Crane ??

Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 2:48 pm
by badpenny
I agree with Coin-op, I knew somebody who imported a Wurltzer and merely wired a transformer in line with the motor, it ran but played the records slower due to it being a different Hz.

Re: Novelty Merchantman Crane ??

Posted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 6:53 pm
by willborl
Not sure if this one on ebay would be suitable, item number 220559271127

Re: Novelty Merchantman Crane ??

Posted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 7:32 am
by churchfayreuk
Hi Guys, (oh and Ladies )
I've just checked the ebay one, and that's from a pusher - it's quite a bit bigger, plus main problem is the speed ratio needs to slower. But THANKS
I've located an original motor :burp: , and had a TEXT conversation, but that's as far as it's got :!?!:
Now need to get a price :dammit:
Buts me still looking.
Martin