RE: We all need to act now

General vintage slot machine related topics.
neo

RE: We all need to act now

Post by neo »

HI all,

Not really sure where to stick this post (im sure some suggestions will arrive shortly!) so it's going here, til it gets moved/deleted/edited etc.

Just read through Badpennys post in the announcements section, and have a few ideas as to why things may not be going as planned/expected on the auction/ new collectors front.

As a complete newbie myself, i think the part that has me most interested is getting an old shitter of a machine and bringing it back to some sort of working model. Everything i have seen for sale so far, seems to have been completely refurbed and ready for work!
It may be just me, but don't people want something that they can put their own touch into rather than buying something that someone else has already done?
Maybe there aren't any 'virtually knackered' machines left out there??

It's a bit like restoring an old car. You want a heap of rust which costs next to nothing, and spend £20k and 15 years of knuckle scraping turning it back to it's former glory rather than paying for one that someone has already done.

Maybe this is why there aren't many newbies on the scene / machines selling?

Thoughts/suggestions/donations welcomed!
pennymachines
Site Admin

Re: RE: We all need to act now

Post by pennymachines »

Hi Dan,
A beautifully restored machine will of course be very saleable and is likely to fetch a premium at auction. An unrestored but immaculate original one is the rarest and most desirable type and should in theory fetch more (but doesn't always do so). A poorly restored machine, on the other hand, may be worth less to the serious collector than a junker because it has been "got at". Original features will be undetectable because they've been permanently erased or damaged and the vendor will expect you to pay for handiwork that must be remedied and redone.