Hello from Barry Island

Tell us a bit about yourself.
barryisland

Hello from Barry Island

Post by barryisland »

Hello
As I now write this I can see Barry Island a few miles away (a place of so much fun for me).
I have a lifelong interest in jukeboxes and anything coin operated so this site is a great find for me.
In the 60s and early 70s I remember the huge arcade under the water chute in Porthcawl where I lived, full of all the usual interesting things. Haunted house etc. As a teenager about 1973 I remember one local chap nearly died as he accidentally got shot by the live .22 guns in a part of the arcade, some game that one!
I am a coin op novice with just two machines, clown (posted) and running hare, and a few juke boxes.
My first juke box which I still have is a Bal-Ami super 40 De Luxe. Bought from the old mag Exchange and Mart in 1980.
The excitement of owning a real old jukebox was immeasurable, it still is.
I have enjoyed looking at the posts and no doubt will need some advice.
Thanks
BarryIsland
barryisland

Re: Hello from Barry Island

Post by barryisland »

Hi again and apologies
Having read through my post again, I did not live under the Water Chute as previously stated, the water chute was in my local fairground just a mile from home. Porthcawl was a great attraction in the 6os and 70s. We had miners fortnight, a two week holiday when the whole of the valleys came to the town to populate the caravan site which was the biggest in Europe at that time, about 5000 caravans. Gas powered caravan lighting, no running water and a toilet block a hundred yards away, all part of the fun. The fair is still going but the gloss has long gone.
BarryIsland
highfield

Post by highfield »

Hi Barryisland