Adapting old machines

Somebody knows... Maybe you?
loramarsden

Adapting old machines

Post by loramarsden »

Hey! I know I've only just got here, but I'm super keen to some help, and clearly, you're the people to help!

Basically, I'm an art student and for my degree show I really REALLY want to adapt some amusements... when i was 17 and on my art foundation course, I made my own amusement show thing based on myself, with non of the machines working, just made to look the part... (some pictures below)

foundation.jpg

foundation2.jpg

and now I want to get serious! I want to alter real working machines and perhaps have them vend my own work... a similar idea to Tim Hunkin... but without me getting involved in any of the mechanics... I guess it's more like the Art-O-Mat company who basically re-vamp old cigarette machines and have 100 or so artists making small pieces of work for them to vend (some examples below).

boca.jpg
boca.jpg (23.57 KiB) Viewed 5067 times

samflax.gif
samflax.gif (42.3 KiB) Viewed 5067 times

venue.jpg
venue.jpg (21.52 KiB) Viewed 5067 times

scott-seabolt.jpg

So yeah, I was wondering where would be the best place to get hold of my own machine, and how much money are we talking *will student loan cover it*?

I get so excited going to Southport Pavilion and Bygone Times and playing on their machines and I'd just love so much to have one of my own to love and care for!

In terms of something that would easily vend my own creations I was thinking of something similar to the machine on the right of this picture...

wonders-fortune.jpg

Any suggestions/help would be MASSIVELY appreciated, and if anybody knows any good places to visit for amusements and that in the Northwest it'd help no end!
Thank you xxx
malcymal

Re: HELP!...please :-)

Post by malcymal »

Something like this maybe, vends tarot cards. Sure you could overlay something on the dial and vend mini artwork??