How to take Sega Buckingham off FREE play?

Somebody knows... Maybe you?
pennywise

How to take Sega Buckingham off FREE play?

Post by pennywise »

Hi guys, all new to me so first post is, Sega "The Buckingham". It's fully mechanical but on FREE play. Does anyone know how to put it back onto coin play. I have the identical Sega Buccaneer but cannot work it out because the Buccaneer is electro-mechanical although there is all the same wiring in both machines even though it's not needed in one. Any help on this would be great as I'm still learning about these great machines.
treefrog

Re: How to take Sega Buckingham off FREE play?

Post by treefrog »

Hello and welcome. Could be a number of reasons for free play, but to help if you share some pictures of the mechanism to the top and bottom right from the front it may help !THUMBS!
pennywise

Post by pennywise »

Ok thanks treefrog will take coin tube and coin mech out and take pics so you can see behind as I'm pretty sure the coin mech isn't owt to do with FREE play. :D
radiochrissie

Post by radiochrissie »

Free play is almost always caused by the operating solenoid or its associated trip lever being jammed open or in need of adjustment. It is part of the mech assembly and mounted on the r/h/side.
malcymal

Post by malcymal »

I seem to remember on my Sega Windsor, one solenoid was open due to a worn spring; there was a connection between the end of the game cycle solenoid and the spring. As it was worn, it wasnt informing the gubbins that the game was over hence continually played for free. New spring and some servisol switch cleaner on all solenoids sorted it out a treat. I think there were three in all, one for coin in, one for end of play and another for a token payout option to kick the token slide.
pennywise

Post by pennywise »

Sorry just come back from holiday and trying to upload pics of the mech but dont know how please help im thick🤣🤣🤣
badpenny
Forum Moderator

Post by badpenny »

pennywise