Somebody knows... Maybe you?
User avatar
badpenny
Forum Moderator
Posts: 5820
Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 12:41 pm
Location: West Midlands
Contact:

Re: Günter Wulff Astra - Insides

Postby badpenny » Tue Jan 14, 2014 11:34 pm

Errr .... yes ... the fuse holder that I always knew was .... errr ... that thing you just said.

User avatar
JC
Posts: 870
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 10:38 pm
Location: Kent
Contact:

Re: Günter Wulff Astra - Insides

Postby JC » Wed Jan 15, 2014 12:13 am

The configuration in Stuart's drawing looks like a suppressor. If this is correct, then the leg from the 0.1uF cap. should go to earth.

User avatar
slotalot
Posts: 1802
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Halifax West Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Günter Wulff Astra - Insides

Postby slotalot » Wed Jan 15, 2014 10:37 am

This may be a little late now??? :oops:
But just been doing a little more research into this component and managed to find this... Delta Suppressor Arcotronics FATAD series 0.15mf X2 + 2 x 4700pfd Cy 250V AC

The rating is a little different but it should fit the bill :!?!: If you haven't ordered the other bits yet, that is... !SORRY!

User avatar
JC
Posts: 870
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 10:38 pm
Location: Kent
Contact:

Re: Günter Wulff Astra - Insides

Postby JC » Wed Jan 15, 2014 1:06 pm

Just to clarify, Stuart's drawing on the previous page is a 'Star' configuration. The Ebay link is for a 'Delta'. Don't worry too much about the difference between Star and Delta, you don't really need to know - Delta is the more common config. for a suppressor. Here's a diagram:
suppressor.jpg
suppressor.jpg (10.36 KiB) Viewed 888 times

slotsoffun
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 6:36 pm

Re: Günter Wulff Astra - Insides

Postby slotsoffun » Wed Jan 15, 2014 8:54 pm

Once again appreciate the time and effort you guys are giving. Unfortunately, I have already ordered the parts (I don't like to hang around!!!) but I'm OK with that. I will however order the other one you suggest and give that a go. As for wiring, I may need some idiot advice when it arrives, circuit diagrams confuse me, but drawing pointy arrows on a photo as to where things connect I can handle !!!! :lol:

slotsoffun
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 6:36 pm

Re: Günter Wulff Astra - Insides

Postby slotsoffun » Fri Jan 17, 2014 5:45 pm

Got the Delta Capacitor today from eBay, soldered it in, and Hooray, I'm still alive and no explosion! Now that's done, more problems, so please any experts on these type of machines appreciated!!!
None of the lights work so I can't see my scores, but after feeding in loads of coins I'm sure I've had a winner, which if I have then the payout solenoid is not working!!!

So, no lights working, even when pressing the "show score" button. Also not convinced payout solenoid working... Looks like it'll be a Friday night in the garage trouble shooting... Please feel free to throw in any suggestions...

Thanks.

User avatar
slotalot
Posts: 1802
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Halifax West Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Günter Wulff Astra - Insides

Postby slotalot » Fri Jan 17, 2014 6:29 pm

Hi, if all the lights are not working? then I would first check both of the fuses, one on top of the transformer & the one in the red fuse holder. Also all the lamp holders will have a common negative wire back to the transformer. I would also check for breaks in that wire. all with the machine unplugged - I don't want you going black and crispy down one side.. :zapa:

Also there are 6 lamps that permanently light up the clown's face. Are they also not lit??? They should be on all the time, as soon as you plug the machine in.

slotsoffun
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 6:36 pm

Re: Günter Wulff Astra - Insides

Postby slotsoffun » Fri Jan 17, 2014 10:39 pm

Thanks SlotaLot, I did re-check the fuse on top of the transformer, although the fuse was fine, when it was in the holder and the test meter put across the contacts there was nothing... It was just the fuse holder with corrosion and not making good contact. Fixed that and the lights all work now. I cleaned the payout slide, and now the whole thing works perfect. Magic!!!!
Thanks again for help and advice.

oldvic
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2019 12:12 pm

German Astra Wall Machine Problem

Postby oldvic » Wed Feb 20, 2019 12:22 pm

Topic merged - Site Admin.

I have a 1962 Astra wall machine (that's the one with the dice theme).

It all works fine except for the following problem:

Inside the machine, at the centre, near the bottom, there is a relay which, when on, activates all the lights.

In my machine, the relay never comes on. The coil is fine. I just can't see what turns it on during the game - I have had to wedge it firmly on to get the bulbs to light, but the lights are supposed to switch off at the end of each game (to be kind to the bulbs, I guess).

Has anyone any idea what activates the coil - I've looked through all the cams but can't see anything obvious.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

User avatar
coppinpr
Posts: 3551
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 2:01 pm
Location: Lewes, East Sussex
Contact:

Re: Günter Wulff Astra - Insides

Postby coppinpr » Wed Feb 20, 2019 1:52 pm

Hi, and welcome to the forum. Remember, photos of the machine and its innards ALWAYS brings more response from the mob.
Although I've never had one of these, I do like them and have had machines with similar lighting. There are electrickery experts on the forum who will come along. I am no expert on the mysteries of electricity.

But one thing is certain, the lights are switched on by inserting a coin which I'm assuming hits switch that starts a large multi switch cam (like I said, I've never seen inside this machine). The coin probably hits a switch which starts the cam for just a second. The first thing the cam does is operate a switch that will keep power to the cam for the duration of the game. Because the lights stay on for the same length of time as the game runs, this switch on the cam will most likely send power to the lights as well as the cam if the voltage is the same for both. It will of course be a separate wire from that switch. Find out which cam switch keeps the power on for the cam and trace the wiring from that. There may well be a break. If all else fails (and the experts say the power level is the same for both cam and lights), you could simply run new wires from the switch to the lights... I think. It's possible there is a separate switch on the cam for the lights. If there is, it will be easy to spot because it have the same run time as the cam switch. The sparky boys will now tell you the easy way. :shock:



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot] and 4 guests