Comment on this site; suggest improvements; be firm but polite.
widget2k4
Posts: 1386
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 8:32 am
Contact:

Auto login

Postby widget2k4 » Mon Dec 07, 2015 8:22 am

Is anyone else having a problem with the site remembering your details to login ?
Every time I return to the site I have to re enter my details, and I check the 'remember me' box to keep me logged in. Strangely it does the same on my phone?
Never used to do this :(

User avatar
alan57
Posts: 184
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 8:45 pm
Contact:

Re: auto login

Postby alan57 » Mon Dec 07, 2015 8:52 am

I thought it was my laptop, I also have to keep signing back in.

User avatar
badpenny
Forum Moderator
Posts: 6011
Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 12:41 pm
Location: East Midlands
Contact:

Re: auto login

Postby badpenny » Mon Dec 07, 2015 11:53 am

I went through a phase about a week ago where I had to do it every time, but I'd just done a clear out of Spy Bot and cleared my Cache in an attempt to regain use of Emoticons. I assumed it was that causing it.

Then suddenly it started recognising me again.

BP

User avatar
pennymachines
Site Admin
Posts: 4750
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2002 12:12 am
Location: The Black Country
Contact:

Re: auto login

Postby pennymachines » Mon Dec 07, 2015 1:40 pm

Hi guys,
Thanks for the auto-login reports.
I was aware that there are still issues with the login, so I'll add that to the list.
Members whose details were only recorded in the Forum database, but not in the new membership database were unable to log in. That is now resolved, I believe.
Sometimes logging out makes it impossible to log back in. That issue is currently 'under review'.
I think this can be temporarily fixed by deleting session cookies (one called PHPSESSID, in particular).

Meantime, rest assured, our crack team of highly skilled programmers are working tirelessly to sort this out. !!COFFEE!!

User avatar
gameswat
Posts: 1738
Joined: Sat May 30, 2009 5:17 am
Location: perth, australia

Re: Auto login

Postby gameswat » Mon Dec 07, 2015 3:52 pm

pennymachines wrote:Meantime, rest assured, our crack team of highly skilled programmers are working tirelessly to sort this out.
Maybe you guys need to finally think about upgrading your Babbage Engine computer? Just a thought but apparently there are tons of ex telco "Uniselector" units going cheap in 1950's and 60's coin op machines!?

User avatar
pennymachines
Site Admin
Posts: 4750
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2002 12:12 am
Location: The Black Country
Contact:

Re: Auto login

Postby pennymachines » Mon Dec 07, 2015 7:44 pm

I'm surprised that you of all people Gameswat should be advocating newfangled electrickery after so many years of reliable service from good old mechanicals. :tut
What was good enough for Babbage is good enough for me. !UPSET!

User avatar
pennymachines
Site Admin
Posts: 4750
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2002 12:12 am
Location: The Black Country
Contact:

Re: Auto login

Postby pennymachines » Tue Dec 08, 2015 7:43 pm

I believe the login issues are now fixed.
Otherwise, please me know.

widget2k4
Posts: 1386
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 8:32 am
Contact:

Re: Auto login

Postby widget2k4 » Tue Dec 08, 2015 11:04 pm

still not working here on my mac or my phone ?

User avatar
pennymachines
Site Admin
Posts: 4750
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2002 12:12 am
Location: The Black Country
Contact:

Re: Auto login

Postby pennymachines » Wed Dec 09, 2015 1:06 am

Rats! How about now?

woody2
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 7:20 pm

Re: Auto login

Postby woody2 » Wed Dec 09, 2015 1:54 am

not working here


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest