American, British, French or German? We want to know about it.
peterkay

Jamieson/Streets et al. Snap bandits

Postby peterkay » Sat Mar 07, 2009 1:18 pm

Hello all,
I am a newbie, I am hoping someone can help me locate, or even tell me the name of a slot machine from the 1970s.
The gist of the game was there was a horizontal barrel split into 3 sections with each section having a picture of different people. I recall there was a policeman, a lady in a swimsuit, I think a postman, maybe a baker. The object was to line up the head torso and legs of the same person to win.
Can anybody connect with this description?
I think it was more for children than adults.

Many thanks,
Peter.

coin-op
Forum Moderator

Re: help with finding a machine

Postby coin-op » Sat Mar 07, 2009 6:20 pm

Hi Peter, I think the machine you are describing is called SNAP and was made by Jamieson Automatics who were based in Bridlington. I thought I had a picture of one somewhere, but cannot locate it at present. Maybe another member can produce one. I think the child-like features of the machine might lead you to think of it as a children's game but, when you think about it, in essence it was a disguised three reel slot machine.

badpenny
Forum Moderator

Postby badpenny » Tue Mar 10, 2009 8:36 pm

I used to have one of those ............. ugly great brute ....... the payout was a bit erratic so I did my usual and stabbed it with a screwdriver whilst it was plugged in ..... lot of glue in chipboard ...... the flames distorted the plexiglass.

pennymachines
Site Admin

Postby pennymachines » Tue Mar 10, 2009 10:45 pm

Coin-op wrote:SNAP and was made by Jamieson Automatics
There's a 1960s amusement slot machine "Snap" pictured at Artfact, but they attribute it to the London, Eastbourne manufacturer Streets Automatic Machine Co. Ltd.

coin-op
Forum Moderator

Re: "Snap" identified

Postby coin-op » Wed Mar 11, 2009 9:50 am