Building a slot machine from scratch? You're not alone in your madness.
gerty808
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 11:51 am

Jubilee mech - how to attach handle?

Postby gerty808 » Sat Jul 29, 2017 8:54 am

Hi All, :tarah:

I'm new to the forum and currently trying to rebuild a one arm bandit machine. I have a mec which is a jubilee machine.

I'm currently trying to get to grips with how to attach the handle mech onto a makeshift cabinet I have made. I can't seem to figure out which part goes where? If someone could help that would be fantastic.

I'm happy to share my Skype name with anyone who thinks they can point me in the right direction.

Many thanks

Amy Pennington

Email address removed to prevent spamming. (Use the forum email facility) - Site Admin.
IMG_3108a.jpg
IMG_3107a.jpg
IMG_3105a.jpg
IMG_3009a.jpg
IMG_3007a.jpg

User avatar
coppinpr
Posts: 4018
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 2:01 pm
Location: Lewes, East Sussex
Contact:

Re: Jubilee mech how to attach handle mech ???

Postby coppinpr » Sat Jul 29, 2017 12:58 pm

Hi, welcome to the site, we will see if we can sort this out.
I don't know if you are very experienced with slots. If not, you're setting yourself a hard task with a makeshift case. Is this a scratch built case to an original design or a case you have designed yourself? If it's the latter, you can't even begin to think about where to cut the handle hole or mount the inside handle mech until you know exactly where the machine mech sits in the case. Have you got that far yet?

There should be a boss that goes on the outside of the case between the handle and the case but I can't see one in the photos.
I guess it could be a Jubilee mech but it looks more like an Aristocrat to me (although Jubilee did become part of Aristocrat late in life).

Can we see the case to advise on the position? Do you have a baseplate for the mech to sit on? Once you have the actual position of the link between the handle and the mech mounting the rest of the handle parts will look a lot clearer.

gerty808
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 11:51 am

Re: Jubilee mech how to attach handle mech ???

Postby gerty808 » Mon Jul 31, 2017 4:51 pm

Hi there

Big thanks for your reply!

I bought the machine off of Henry Powell and thought I'd have a go at trying to build a case myself which may not be the wisest idea now I think about it but it was all I could afford at the time.

What you see there is exactly what I got sent. There is no base and that is all the parts I'm afraid. I can take more pictures if this helpful?

Many thanks amy!

User avatar
coppinpr
Posts: 4018
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 2:01 pm
Location: Lewes, East Sussex
Contact:

Re: Jubilee mech how to attach handle mech ???

Postby coppinpr » Mon Jul 31, 2017 8:21 pm

If you bought from HP I'm not surprised you couldn't afford the case, you could probably have bought a whole working machine for less than you paid for that mech. I don't know what you paid but I could have sold you the exact same mech for £50 and made a profit :cool:

The problem you have is it's pretty much unusable without a coin entry, and a raised base plate (although I guess you could try and make a wooden base plate) and you still need some sort of case to mount the arm! You could ask treefrog if he's got a spare case (silly me, he will have a spare case, he's got quite a selection of machines and bits). Once you have a case we can set about getting it to match the mech. Making your own case is a bit of an enigma when it comes to one arm bandit machines. Their charm and appeal often lies in the design and shape of the case as much as in the mechanics. For an allwin type machine it's different - you're pretty much recreating the original case.

Which photo captures your imagination?
sega 3.jpg
jackpot buckley.jpg
Don't give up, we'll make something of it.

User avatar
treefrog
Posts: 3660
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:46 pm
Location: Suffolk

Re: Jubilee mech how to attach handle mech ???

Postby treefrog » Mon Jul 31, 2017 9:07 pm

Yes it is an Aristocrat and the handle looks possibly non-Aristocrat. Also, I noticed it is manual fed for tokens, not from the coin overflow as no full tube and single slide payout.

Yes have a few cabinets, mainly sheerline type, one is in the garden.....

gerty808
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 11:51 am

Re: Jubilee mech - how to attach handle?

Postby gerty808 » Mon Jul 31, 2017 11:35 pm

Oh dear!

So I basically bought the mech, handle and coin bit at the top (which I've not took a pic of yet).

I know it was something around 250 with delivery. I did get him to configure it to 20ps and pay out tokens.

So any ideas where I could get a case from?

And will I need this base plate as he should have maybe included it?

Big thanks for all your help - suggestions are really welcome!

Amy

gerty808
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 11:51 am

Re: Jubilee mech - how to attach handle?

Postby gerty808 » Mon Jul 31, 2017 11:37 pm

Tree frog let me know if I can get a case off you. I'm happy to repaint it up etc.

widget2k4
Posts: 1386
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 8:32 am
Contact:

Re: Jubilee mech - how to attach handle?

Postby widget2k4 » Tue Aug 01, 2017 6:22 am

£250 :shock:
wow thats a lot of money for a mech

User avatar
treefrog
Posts: 3660
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:46 pm
Location: Suffolk

Re: Jubilee mech - how to attach handle?

Postby treefrog » Tue Aug 01, 2017 2:03 pm

I have a few steel Sheerline cabinets - they are easy to strip and paint and should have a base plate, may have handles as well.

It is a shame you never found this site sooner as I would have sold you a choice of machines for £250 all working......never mind.

By the way, why did you ask for token payout and not coin, as you will have to hand feed all the time, also what token is it?

User avatar
coppinpr
Posts: 4018
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 2:01 pm
Location: Lewes, East Sussex
Contact:

Re: Jubilee mech - how to attach handle?

Postby coppinpr » Tue Aug 01, 2017 2:06 pm

Good, TF has entered the fray, he's always got the bits you need, you may have to remind him a couple of times but he doesn't mind. Any case will come with the base plate (and possibly the handle). Once you get a case the rest is....easy :!?!:

See you're learning already, lesson 1. anything from HP will be too expensive. :lol:


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests