Aristocrat Kingsway missing lock and lighting

Somebody knows... Maybe you?
Post Reply
phan000
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2021 9:37 pm

Aristocrat Kingsway missing lock and lighting

Post by phan000 »

Greetings and thanks for letting me join the site.

I picked up this “Crazy” Joker machine last evening. Reel mechanism is in amazing shape, and pays and plays perfectly.

The former owner drilled out the door lock and the drawer lock. I’m not familiar with these machines and not sure what the lock cam should look like. It may be a challenge to source the cam as these machines are pretty rare in my area.

All of the lighting has been removed. There are fixtures for the reel and belly glass, but just wires in the top. Ballast is still in place, but no starters.

Plug has been modified to work on 110v (I’m in US).

Not sure if ballast will work on 110v, or what number starters this machine needs.

Thanks in advance for any advice!
Attachments
F1D51624-793F-44AB-A475-B01F8AE22102a.jpg
98EA986E-B817-4BFA-9428-A06716525FF7a.jpg
94B9BD64-E341-45DF-969C-711968A2E03Fa.jpg
78641861-4BA7-4C52-AE3E-AEE1E8866F74a.jpg
18D271AB-4C27-42F9-B82A-F8B05F004AB3a.jpg
User avatar
treefrog
Posts: 4190
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:46 pm
Location: Suffolk

Re: Aristocrat kingsway missing lock and lighting

Post by treefrog »

Hello and welcome,

A very tidy looking machine !!THUMBSX2!!

Although I have a sales poster for these machines, I have not seen that version before with the top flash artwork, very nice.

In terms of lighting, I am the wrong person to answer this, but would have thought it would be straightforward to get sorted, as to whether existing starters and ballasts can be, anyone !PUZZLED!

Locks should be easy to source and standard cam locks are fine if the right barrel length. If you need size I can dig out a machine to look, hopefully the cash drawer lock mechanism has not been damaged when drilling as this is a long rod that goes to the back of the cash tray, have a look and ensure it is complete…
aristomatic
Posts: 957
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 8:13 pm

Re: Aristocrat Kingsway missing lock and lighting

Post by aristomatic »

I have same machine with exact same artwork. Top flash artwork on Kingsway doesn't match the Nevada/Grosvenor bottom artwork. I always presumed that top flash was produced at a later date to 'produce' the Kingsway variant, but who knows what happened back then?
phan000
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2021 9:37 pm

Re: Aristocrat Kingsway missing lock and lighting

Post by phan000 »

Thanks for the replies,

I have a number of lock sets to determine the length. Not really sure how the cam is supposed to attach as the previous owner may have taken that apart.

If anyone could post a photo of that part of the door, I would really appreciate it.

Still working on the lighting issue. If it is set up for 250v, I suppose the best fix would be to remove ballast, starters, and use LED’s?

Any idea when this machine was made? Plate does not have a stamp.

I’m very pleased with the condition of the reel mechanism and chrome.
My area has subtropical climate & most of the machines age poorly after sitting in a garage or storage unit for a decade or two.
Attachments
4706B7E0-6059-47A1-AC5C-7541B1AA44D6.jpeg
User avatar
coppinpr
Posts: 4451
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 2:01 pm
Location: Lewes, East Sussex
Contact:

Re: Aristocrat Kingsway missing lock and lighting

Post by coppinpr »

A better option than LED lighting might be to switch to a new solid-state ballast (available on Ebay, very inexpensive, 110v available ($5) and no starters needed).
The date could be the last two digits of the serial number (71) but that might be just a little late(?)
If you are interested in the company history (and the indestructible Len Ainsworth) take a look at the aristocrat page on my site https://www.penny-arcade.info/the-aristocrat-collection
User avatar
treefrog
Posts: 4190
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:46 pm
Location: Suffolk

Re: Aristocrat Kingsway missing lock and lighting

Post by treefrog »

Hope below helps.

The tab should have a cut in it that goes through the lock bar pinion marked with the arrow below. You can cut a notch in the tab to achieve this.

5537BA4C-3749-4CF1-A03D-C01040AED73Aa.jpg

The second picture is where I was lazy as by lifting only the lock bar, the weight and smooth running meant it would drop into position when locking, not always the case when a tight fit or not having a smooth action.

4C931BE5-70FC-4CF5-A142-51CA347B8625a.jpg

Hope this helps
phan000
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2021 9:37 pm

Re: Aristocrat Kingsway missing lock and lighting

Post by phan000 »

That helps a lot. I can probably get a common lock and fabricate that cam.

Got the lighting all fixed up.
Attachments
33C75BF4-A2F6-48BA-885F-FEADF4781666a.jpg
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests