Somebody knows... Maybe you?
User avatar
slotalot
Posts: 1816
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Halifax West Yorkshire
Contact:

Arcadian swap?

Postby slotalot » Fri May 14, 2010 2:58 pm

Hi :D ,
This is probably not the right place to post this but it worked with Badpenny and his free machines so here goes.
Somewhere along the way I have acquired an Arcadian Fiesta bandit :!?!: which I had planned to refurbish for my grandson, but it would appear that he has better taste as he like playing on the old penny electromechanical machines that I have in my collection, so I am looking for a swop, that’s swop the machine NOT my grandson :tut ...
Basically this is a new penny bandit, it works but the reels hardly turn, I know it could do with a strip down and a good clean to get it running as it should; the only thing that is missing as far as I can see is the bit of tin that guides the coin from the coin slot to the coin mech, this would be easy to make or find, also the chrome is showing its age as you can see from the photo,
As I say I am looking to swop it for an electromechanical type machine, I am not after the crown Jewells or your best machine, in fact I prefer a machine that needs some work doing, as that's the bit I like best about collecting vintage slots,
So if you would like this machine and you have something that I might want in exchange lets see if we can work a deal. !!CHEERS!!
fiesta.jpg

User avatar
badpenny
Forum Moderator
Posts: 5977
Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 12:41 pm
Location: East Midlands
Contact:

Re: Arcadian swap?

Postby badpenny » Fri May 14, 2010 10:58 pm

Come on Grandad make the lad a mini pusher ........... you know he would enjoy it, not to mention the rest of the family! :D

User avatar
slotalot
Posts: 1816
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Halifax West Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Arcadian swap?

Postby slotalot » Sat May 15, 2010 8:04 am

Badpenny wrote:Come on Grandad make the lad a mini pusher
!!IDEA!! That's not a bad idea....Anyone got a pusher to swop???? !!ANYONE!!

User avatar
slotalot
Posts: 1816
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Halifax West Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Arcadian swap?

Postby slotalot » Tue Jun 08, 2010 1:27 pm

OK so its back to plan "A" then! But I still need your help :D
as I got no offers to swap your junk for mine I have decided give the machine a good clean and service and see if my grandson likes it any better once it is finished and shiny !!IDEA!!
The only thing that I need now is a 10amp three pin Female AU (Austrailian)Type plug to fit the power socket on the back of the machine, I have tried Ebay and the Clipsal website and I cant find one anywere :!?!: Does anyone know were I can get one from? any help would be well welcome !!CHEERS!!

User avatar
badpenny
Forum Moderator
Posts: 5977
Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 12:41 pm
Location: East Midlands
Contact:

Re: Arcadian swap?

Postby badpenny » Tue Jun 08, 2010 2:27 pm

They do crop up but very rarely. The last time I had an Arcadian I just rewired the whole lighting system with a lead exiting through one of the holes in the back of the cabinet and stuck a three pin plug on it.
However I know you are a perfectionist Stuart so ......................

User avatar
slotalot
Posts: 1816
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Halifax West Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Arcadian swap?

Postby slotalot » Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:25 pm

Badpenny wrote:They do crop up but very rarely. The last time I had an Arcadian I just rewired the whole lighting system with a lead exiting through one of the holes in the back of the cabinet and stuck a three pin plug on it.
However I know you are a perfectionist Stuart so ......................
"Socket" to me BP!!!! !SORRY! but I had to say it....didn't I?
I may have to bypass the old sockets if I cant get hold of the correct plug :oops:
However the good news is I have freed up the mech and got it working, all I had to do was clean off the 30 year old solid grease from the bearings and the coin slides and it runs a treat !!THUMBSX2!! I just need to give the cabinet a wash and brush up.....then I can list it on Ebay as an genuine early 18th century Bryans Allwin and I will be quids in :clown:
I will post some photos of my efforts later :tarah:

andrew stretton
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 6:16 am

Re: Arcadian swap?

Postby andrew stretton » Wed Jun 09, 2010 8:43 pm

hi-just wondered if any member can help-i have an aristocrat arcadian,it worked fine when last used some 6-7 years ago,now when the lever is pulled the reels hardly move at all,they try to spin but not much movement at all.its been stored in a dry building.? any ideas please.

User avatar
badpenny
Forum Moderator
Posts: 5977
Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 12:41 pm
Location: East Midlands
Contact:

Re: Arcadian swap?

Postby badpenny » Wed Jun 09, 2010 9:28 pm

andrew stretton wrote:hi-just wondered if any member can help-i have an aristocrat arcadian,it worked fine when last used some 6-7 years ago,now when the lever is pulled the reels hardly move at all,they try to spin but not much movement at all.its been stored in a dry building.? any ideas please.
Hi Andrew .......

Welcome to the site. Your machine is probably suffering from the same dry grease syndrome that Slotalot was just describing.
How familiar with the mechanism are you? Would it help if I said clean the grooves the wire brakes run in on the reels? Clean the pivot bearings where the reels axle join the A frames?
If not don't worry I was probably only using my own names for these things anyway.

Basically grease is to be avoided it goes dry and then does the opposite of what it was applied for. Scrape it all out and use a light oil (but not on the payout slides).
Badpenny

User avatar
slotalot
Posts: 1816
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Halifax West Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Arcadian swap?

Postby slotalot » Wed Jun 09, 2010 10:20 pm

andrew stretton wrote:hi-just wondered if any member can help-i have an aristocrat arcadian,it worked fine when last used some 6-7 years ago,now when the lever is pulled the reels hardly move at all,they try to spin but not much movement at all.its been stored in a dry building.? any ideas please.
Hi Andrew, :D welcome to the forum....
It sounds as though your machine has the same problem as mine had with the reels running slow, as Badpenny says old solid grease will be the problem :didact:
if you remove the mech from the cabinet and turn it round you will see a thick shaft near the bottom, this is held in place with two half bearings, the half bearings have 2 screws each holding them to the left and right main frame castings, I carefully removed the half bearings one at a time and cleaned all the old grease from them, I reassembled them with a drop of light oil and that was al it took to get the reels spinning !!YIPPEE!! , its also worth checking all the other bearings for the same type of problems, just slowly work your way around the machine a bit at a time and you will be fine !PUZZLED!
Dont forget to let us know how you get on :tarah:

User avatar
slotalot
Posts: 1816
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Halifax West Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Arcadian swap?

Postby slotalot » Wed Jun 16, 2010 8:28 pm

slotalot wrote:The only thing that I need now is a 10amp three pin Female AU (Austrailian)Type plug to fit the power socket on the back of the machine, I have tried Ebay and the Clipsal website and I cant find one anywere :!?!: Does anyone know were I can get one from? any help would be well welcome !!CHEERS!!
Problem solved thanks to Bob Klepner of Australia who saw my posting for :!HELP:! with finding an Ausralian plug for my "grandsons" machine, he found and packed one up and sent it by !!PLANE!! all the way to my door here in /\UK/\ , so !!CHEERS!! Bob I will be shopping round for some flex to wire it up tomorrow, and here is a !!PHOTO!! of the plug fitted to the back of the machine....
dont you just /\LOVE/\ this forum :tarah:
a1.jpg


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests