Duchess one arm bandit in Lincoln. Help fix?

Somebody knows... Maybe you?
dicky_88

Duchess one arm bandit in Lincoln. Help fix?

Post by dicky_88 »

Hi, picked up from Newark antique fair today. Mechanism looks like it might work. Replaced plug. Doesn't work when I plug it in still. Anybody think they could fix this as I'm not good at this.
Attachments
image.jpg
Last edited by dicky_88 on Thu Feb 06, 2014 9:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
coppinpr

Re: Duchess one arm bandit in lincoln. Help fix?

Post by coppinpr »

Are you saying you want help to fix this machine? If so, there doesn't seem much wrong with it if the mech is working as you say. Clean, rub down and repaint the front, replace any lights that aren't working and that's about it. It's clearly a UK revamp of a German mech. Hope it wasn't expensive, it's rare that's for sure
dicky_88

Post by dicky_88 »

Sorry I should have been clearer. When I plug it in it doesn't work but I can see the system working when I open it.
treefrog

Post by treefrog »

Hey I miss the fairs, :#:

I have a few of these and as Coppin points out, this is a mechanical bandit and should not need electricity to work, just for the lights, then I see that little knob at the bottom right, like on an old stereo. !PUZZLED! Never seen one of those before, soooo can we see pictures inside the cabinet, both the top and cash tray area - may help understand what this is doing.
dicky_88

Post by dicky_88 »

I didn't take one of inside coin tray as it is just a metal tray inside the cabinet. I can pull the handle and see it go down while open but nothing spins.
treefrog

Post by treefrog »

OK, just realised these knobs are just replacements to the locks.

If you insert a coin and pull the handle, does the coin drop down into the coin tube. Does the mechanism engage at all?
dicky_88

Post by dicky_88 »

Not sure if the picture is coming up. The coins runs through the system and out the little change slot.
treefrog

Post by treefrog »