Help me make a Slot Machine???????

Building a slot machine from scratch? You're not alone in your madness.
markymark

Help me make a Slot Machine???????

Post by markymark »

Hi, Just joined the forum, although had you bookmarked for a year or so. I'm currently trying to build a wooden money box type slot machine as a project.
I'm not an expert at woodwork, but prepared to give it a go.. However I'm fascinated by the mechanical aspect of slots. I've owned a couple in the past. Electronic chip controlled stuff does nothing for me.

I've posted a video on youtube, not sure if I'm allowed to put this here, but hope so. If you can give me any ideas it would be great.
All I would like the money box to do is: Accept a coin in a slot, this then allows a handle to be pulled, spin some reels and make a payout (simple one off payout!). What you think?

mark
Bent Copper

Post by Bent Copper »

Interesting project. You'll probably need some basic metalworking facilities as well.

I made something similar in the 60s, 30 years before I'd ever seen the insides of a one-armed bandit.

Firstly, you don't need 2 coin input chutes (which probably wouldn't work well anyway) the microswitch can detect the coin as it passes down a single chute (you need to think in 3 dimensions here).

I like your escapement mechanism for the payout, that should work well and only require a very light solenoid. Stacking the coins edge-on makes the payout and coin separation much easier, although takes up much more room than stacking them on top of one another.