GOOSE the Forum

General vintage slot machine related topics.
roger

GOOSE the Forum

Post by roger »

I have noticed that postings have been slow lately so I decided to give the Forum a bit of a GOOSE.
Recently, Mr. P had a post seeking parts for LITTLE Stockbroker......it reminded me of a machine I acquired at auction,many years ago , prior to the proliferation of books on coin-ops. My slot was called THE STOCKBROKER. It was housed in a beautiful oak cabinet and operated on the old English penny.
I was determined to go the limit to acquire this beauty since I was a professional stock broker.
To my delight , I was the only bidder and it went for a song.
I would like to hear if anyone knows about the history of this machine and perhaps some pictures.

And while we are on the subject of GEASE, I would encourage all members to give the FORUM their own GOOSE.
You do not have to be an expert on coinops to post your own experiences with
The first machine you acquired.......The one that got away
What you would like to own if you had the bucks..........my friends great machine
Your greatest find and buy...........what inspired your interest in coin-ops
How you got taken to the cleaners

START YOUR OWN POSTS AND YOU WILL FIND IT IS LOTS OF FUN..................ROGER
badpenny
Forum Moderator

Re: GOOSE the Forum

Post by badpenny »

I'll join in.
Firstly your "Stockbroker" machine in an oak case. I have a vague recollection but tend not to believe myself or trust anything I recall. So how about a photo?
My first machines I bought in 1971. I'm sure most of you can work out that was due to decimalisation in this country.
I bought them through Exchange and Mart. Many of the seaside operators were selling them for buttons.
I got a Günther Wulff Novomat for £5 delivered and a Hawtins Allwin steel cased allwin for £15.
I didn't get to keep them (another story) but I have now replaced them both, and it nearly cost me £1K to do so. So I lost out there!