Hi from new US member

Tell us a bit about yourself.
walternewton

Hi from new US member

Post by walternewton »

I've been collecting coin-op games since about 1976, have had (and sold off) two major collections, and now, at 68-years-old, a pensioner on a fixed income, I've started up a new collection, abet small, since I don't have the physical space for dozens of machines like in the past.

I live in the Rockies Mountains of Colorado, about 40 miles west of Denver. It's still winter up here, it was 0(F) this morning and we had five inches of new snow on the ground from an overnight storm.

I retired as a programmer of 40 years when I was 60, but went right back to work as an editor of a weekly newspaper in the mountains here.

I remember when Britain was changing over to the decimal coinage system, and wall games (like Alwin's), were being shipped to the U.S. in full containers. They were not that popular among U.S. collectors, but I loved them, mainly due to the low prices.

Now I see the prices have soared, Alwins that were selling for $25 in the 70s now command $500-800 over here. I also owned a number of Rotomat-style games and other wall-mounted European games.

I also had a nice collection of console slots, bingo pinball machines, and more modern Bally EM slots.

Current collections consists of eight machines, two of which are full size slots (a Mills 1931 FOK Vender and a 1929 Watling single-jackpot Blue Seal), a Mills Vest Pocket, and a number of trade stimulators, including a penny drop from 1921.

Oh, and I have a Columbia which is now in great mechanical shape (after wrestling with it for months) but I have totally taken the wood case apart. It was water-logged and needs to be completely rebuilt.

That's about it, hi from this side of the pond.
treefrog

Re: Hi from new US member

Post by treefrog »

Welcome Walter........it was snowing here until about a week ago, finally we have spring......