Coin operated stereo viewers

American, British, French or German? We want to know about it.
atticbrowser

Coin operated stereo viewers

Post by atticbrowser »

I am new to the site so please let me know if any of this is regarded as 'off topic.' I am a stereoscopic photographer as well as having a small collection of coin op machines. So coin op stereo machines are an obvious interest. I'm sure the early wooden cased machines are all well known by members and I see that the Oliver Whales stereo viewer has been discussed several times on here. One interesting little niche in the field though, that may have had less attention, is where a manufacturer has taken a commercial stereoscopic viewer and built it in to a coin operated viewer. I'm attaching below photographs of such machines that I own, tried to own, or have owned at one time.
The first appears to be French and uses a model E Brown Bakelite Viewmaster viewer.
Untitled-3.jpg

The next came from Holland (from memory) and is another machine built around a Model E Viewmaster viewer. This has an interesting timing mechanism that appears to use a sort of test tube filled with mercury!
Untitled-6.jpg

Untitled-7.jpg

This next is called the Hollywood View-a-Scope. This utilises a black Bakelite Tru Vue viewer. Tru Vue was an early competitor to Viewmaster. Unlike the Viewmaster viewer that used flat reels with 7 stereo pairs, Tru Vue stereo images were printed on 35mm film in a long continuous strip. So you got many more pictures on a Tru Vue strip. The operator could change the strip and there is a small label above the lenses marked 'now showing.' The idea was that you tore off the end of the Tru Vue filmstrip box that had the title printed on and inserted that so that punters could see what was on offer. I am told that the (rare) strip 'Sally Rand's fan dance' was a popular one with customers.
Untitled-2.jpg