UK early pinball coin slide mechanism

Somebody knows... Maybe you?
realuncas

UK early pinball coin slide mechanism

Post by realuncas »

Hi. Newbie here. In UK. I have recently bought a 1930s Rainbo De Luxe early mechanical pinball machine. More of a bagatelle really. It has a vertical mounted coin slide mechanism that is different to the more usual horizontal mounted ones. I am wondering if this was a UK design - for the UK market? Made by Keeney and Sons Ltd. in the U.S. but I wonder if some were shipped to the UK without coin mechanism (to be added later in the UK), or perhaps the whole machine was a UK copy (though the playfield is identical). Does anyone have this machine or know anything about it?

There is evidence within the cabinet of perhaps a missing bracket, and a further redundant screw. Both suggest there was maybe some additional mechanism - maybe additional spring? The coin slide works intermittently without use of a coin. Again, I think the coin mechanism must have a missing element. Ideally I need photos of the inside of a fully working cabinet and coin slide to try work out what's missing from mine. If anyone has such photos - either of Rainbo De Luxe or Rainbo, then I would hugely appreciate seeing them. I'll post some photos of mine below. (I will be stripping off the turquoise paint in due course!)
Thanks.
Attachments
1ba.jpg
2ba.jpg
3a.jpg
4a.jpg
deluxe-2a.jpg
pennymachines
Site Admin

Re: UK early pinball coin slide mechanism

Post by pennymachines »

:WELCOME: to the site!

You may find some useful titbits in this topic (which I might merge with yours): Rainbo, Arc en Ciel, Spry Ball, Tura-Ball pinballs

I've seen that coin entry on Rainbos before, and as you suggest, it may well have been a modification by a British importer. In fact, this entry at Worthpoint indicates that Scott Adickes and Company Ltd. is a likely candidate: